Why I feel I am suited to study further

Journalism motivation

George L Germishuys

To find the words that best explain why I am a more suitable candidate for a position in the honours course may be a doomed proposition. The most pertinent reason being that I envisage shameless self- promotion as a tenet of capitalism and a main component of the imminent destruction of Western civilization at the hands of Chinese influence ,money and mainly Chinese hands themselves. When I refer to shameless self -promotion think Bible belt evangelist, Victor Matfield and socialite.

The main reason that I am perhaps a more suitable candidate than the stampeding masses is for the simple reason that I am a man of letters. A man of paper, ink and cynicism. As is commonplace in men of this disposition I have irritatingly naïve ideas about the impact and responsibility of the written word. It is my sincerest believe that any man with a penchant, podium or a conscience should utilise it to “get the bastards”- to shamelessly paraphrase Hunter S. Thompson.

Being a cynic about the nature of man, does not make me immune to the allure and promise of change and the role that words can play in them. My sentiments are not pure folly, the youth uprisings and resistance in Egypt and Libya, the so called “twitter-revolutions” prove this. The Arab spring sprung into existence as a direct result of this. To lay out my sentiment in layman’s terms: words have power.

I too, am not a blind, deaf, dumb or mute man. I am aware of the challenges facing journalists in an increasingly paranoid world. I am further aware of the challenges facing journalists in the South African status quo. The media tribunal and the information bill being the chief concerns. It is upon my mind that journalists do not earn the most lucrative of pay-packets. This is a concern, as I am not immune to the trappings and vice that the world can offer. As my father states, “ek is trots op jou seun. Jy het ‘n meisie, jy is onder prim jy het byna ‘n graad. En dit terwyl ek weet jy wil eintlik heeldag op ‘n seiljag sit en drink.” Wisdom may come in many differing, unlikely and in jest forms. My father proves this most days. The positives outweigh the negatives in this instance.

 I feel I have received a talent that I have to utilise. My love of – and faith in words. It is my sincerest hope that my message has been conveyed with the necessary meaning. I, as many other “crazies” (Hunter S. Thompson paraphrasing once again) hurl ourselves headlong into this field as we crave the freedom and the unusual circumstances that the profession constructs.

 And if the danger may one day catch up with us, the notion would be prevelant to those who witness our lowering into the ground as it will be to us, wherever we may be, that it was a life well, unusually and exceptionally lived.

This is why I feel I am suitable.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment